Dave Meyer

Management, Marketing & Technology Expert

The origin of my interest in business & technology

To this day I’m not sure exactly why Dave Meyer’s (again me :)) interest was always in business & technology rather than say gaming & technology.  I know my interest in programming stemmed from my father’s purchase of a TRS-80 Model 1 way back when they first came out in the late 70’s.  But we also had one of the first Atari systems on the market and I was an avid game player.  I had played around with programming a few text based adventures inspired by the Scott Adams games of the day but in the end I guess it was a marriage of opportunity because my dad got into computer consulting and I had the chance to make real money programming.  Once involved I really enjoyed the creative aspects even though others my age probably saw programming an orthodontic practice management system boring.  I found it exciting to bring new technology to an industry.  So that was the start of a life of entrepreneurship I suppose.  Next stop University of Pennsylvania and the life changing Management & Technology Program.

TRS-80 Model 1

Atari 2600

 

Thanks,

 Dave Meyer

November 6, 2010 Posted by | Dave Meyer, Early Days | , , | Leave a comment